Racing and training, Running, Uncategorized

Now that I care about running again…

…I guess I can think about some serious base training.

And by serious, I mean run more than 15 miles in a week.

IMG_0750

I spent quite a bit of time browsing McMillan Running and, while I currently have NO idea which plan I’ll ultimately use for marathon training, I was drawn to the logical breakdown of how to determine what base training should look like.

Part I

Step 1: Evaluate your strengths and weaknesses

  • Tortoise vs hare: Definitely a tortoise. I much prefer Long Slow Distance to repeats on the track (although I do love me a good tempo run now and then)
  • Major weakness: I don’t stretch enough and I hate doing repeats on a track.
  • Strength: All about lots of comfy miles
  • Considerations for base training: I want to rebuild endurance without burning myself out

Step 2: Evaluate Your Race Distance

5chart
McMillan Running: Evaluate Your Race Distance

Although I am running a 10k in July, my ultimate goal is a marathon in November. If I had to, I’d say the marathon is my “A” race while the 10k is my “B” race that I’m pretty much running for funsies.

Step 3: Evaluate Your Goal

In an ideal world, I’d beat my previous marathon time of 4:55. But I want to balance that goal with the fact that I’m running New York with my best friend and I want to be able to enjoy this once in a lifetime experience with her without stressing to much about time or pace. I know we’ll want to take in the sights and enjoy the NYC vibe. With that being said, I want to be prepared so I don’t hit the wall and end up hating every mile.

Part II

Step 1: How Long Until Race Day?

A freaking long time. More specifically, 8 months. McMillan recommends at least 12 weeks of base training and, considering that I’ll be starting marathon training at the beginning of July, I have a good 16 weeks to focus on endurance and building mileage healthily.

Step 2: Assigning phases to each week

  • Weeks 1-8: Endurance
  • Weeks 8-12: Stamina
  • Weeks 12-13: Speed
  • Weeks 14-16: Peak (aka cutting back before Peachtree/giving myself a little break before marathon training begins)
  • Note to self: These aren’t strict…if I feel like doing a tempo run or repeats during weeks 1-8 I’m not going to stop myself. But it gives me a good training backbone

Step 3: Weekly Mileage

  • 2-3 “up weeks”
  • 1 “down week”
  • McMillan recommends regular races during down weeks but as of right now, I don’t have any races planned until July

Step 4: The Long Run

  • At least 1 run a week that lasts between 1:45-2:30 hours
  • “Two hours is better and should be the rule during the base-building weeks prior to beginning the specific training part of your program”

Step 5: The Primary Workout

  • Should coincide with the phase of base building, ex: “If the phase is Speed, then the primary workout will be a Speed workout”

Full disclosure, there are steps 6-8 listed on McMillan’s article. But going along with my strong desire to not get burned out before an actual training cycle even starts I decided to draw the line at step 5. I also plan on re-reading my Hansons books and just overall immersing myself in some good ole running love over the next 16 weeks. The more fun, the better…amiright?!

Oh and…TGIF!!!

♥ Nicole

 

1 thought on “Now that I care about running again…”

Leave a Reply

