Giving Tuesday, Motivation, Racing and training

Giving Tuesday: Fundraising Update

You guys, fundraising is harder than I anticipated. I feel like a total newb admitting that because obviously asking people for money is difficult. And coming up with creative ways to fundraise is quite challenging.

Duh, right?

My progress so far:

IMG_0341

What I’ve done to get to this point:

– Donated to myself! $100 to kick off the fundraiser

– Hit up my closest family and friends. So far only a smattering of them have donated so far

– Sent 5 fundraising letters as a “pilot”. I have a huge list of future senders but wanted to get an idea of how effective letters would be.

– Facebook and Instagram…lots of likes

– Started sending emails to local businesses (just one as of now)

So what now?

What would motivate you to donate?! Being able to dedicate a mile to someone? Getting your name on my race day bib? Getting to pick an aspect of my race outfit or picking songs on my training playlist? Or would you want something homemade in return for a donation?

You tell me!!!

💗 Nicole

2 thoughts on “Giving Tuesday: Fundraising Update”

  1. Fundraising for a race has always intimidated me so I am already impressed with your progress! I know of people who have done shopping events or bar nights with drink specials. I’m not sure how this works with the business itself, but that might be worth looking into. I think people would be interested in social events like that!

    Like

    1. That is a great idea! I know some larger chain restaurants do that but I’d be interested to see if the local places by me would also be willing to help host a social night.

      Like

Leave a Reply

