Uncategorized

Weight training for uber-beginners

First of all, a big “whoop whoop” to commemorate the fact that I now officially have 2 bids in my charity auction! Don’t miss out, guys!

{Want a month of online training? We’ve got that. Want a new foam roller and some other accessories? Totally have that too!}

Second of all, it’s Wild Workout Wednesday and I’m linking up with  Fitful Focus, The Fit Foodie Mama, Fruition Fitness, and Pretty Little Grub.

Since I haven’t been doing anything extraordinary or amazing lately (thanks to some minor running setbacks), I’ve decided to focus on getting stronger and laying a solid overall (not just running) base.

Enter strength training.

It’s good for the bones. It’s good for balance. It’s good for switching up stale routines.

I’ve literally always been a cardio princess who occasionally did some planks and squats. So I’m starting from scratch. With pretty much no knowledge other than strength training is good and helpful and necessary for long term health/fitness. (Although I’m not going to pretend, I’d also kind of like to look amazeballs for a beach trip I’m taking in May).

Yesterday, I did a quick kettle bell workout followed by 30 minutes on the treadmill…those first few steps on the treadmill. Yikes. My muscles were screaming “WHATTTTT”. But, it was also nice to switch things up.

I did this Beginner Kettle Bell Workout that I found on Pinterest (modeled by a mom to be, but it kind of kicked my butt).

Dabbling with kettle bells is really only just the tip of the iceberg, though. It felt pretty haphazard and I wish I had more “structure” so I can make sure I’m most effectively using my time.

So. Research. Disclaimer: I kind of hate the “for women” label because I’m all about gender equality and think women can before just as awesomely as men but…I guess it’s also helpful to just have some basic info to get me started.

Beginning Weight Lifting Routine for Women

The Women’s Beginner Strength Training Guide

Strength Training 101

Strength Training Program for Runners

Strength Training for the Runner (from FIRST @ Furman)

I don’t envision myself become a muscle lady, but I am excited to have something new to add to my gym routine.

Do you strength train? How often? What’s your routine?

♥ Nicole

 

6 thoughts on “Weight training for uber-beginners”

Leave a Reply

