Uncategorized

Running recap: the week of cross training

IT’S MARATHON MONDAY!!! I’m linking up with HoHo Runs, MissSippiPiddlin, Marathons & Motivation, and Eat, Pray, Run DC!

Design

And don’t forget…my charity auction is LIVE. You can see the rules on bidding here and check out the goods HERE

And now onto my week in review…

Quick recap:

  • Yoga by Candace and Yoga with Adriene are the freaking best
  • Foam rolling is my jam…
  • …and so is wearing compression socks
  • Focusing on recovery and quality workouts has been such a nice break from the pressure to run, run, run
  • I actually do like spending time on the bike, contrary to what I thought I’d feel.
  •  My faves for the week: watching Sabrina the Teenage Witch on Hulu and Halo Top ice cream

Running/cycling, April 10-16

Monday, 4/10 – rest, all day SON! Lots of stairs + standing at work. 15 minute yoga for athletes

PZc

Tuesday, 4/11 – 1 hour easy-ish ride (approximately 11 miles) on the spin bike + 15 minute yoga for hips + foam rolling

Wednesday, 4/12 – I contemplated going for a quick ride after work but decided to rest instead. 15 minute yoga for athletes + foam rolling (I also SPRINTED up a HILL to catch the bus in the morning…does that count?).

a84d439288428572f739442d3f62b94f088df254b318856b5f905bf32d0740e8

Thursday, 4/13 – Let me be real: I planned on doing a 30 minute spin before work but I definitely just slept in instead…1 hour restorative yoga class + foam rolling

Friday, 4/14 – super duper easy 2.8 mile run on the treadmill with my new shoes, 10:40 pace + 15 minute yoga for athletes. My calves definitely felt tight after the run but I didn’t have any pain, so I’m moving in a positive direction.

Saturday, 4/15 – 45 minute spin (approximately 8.5 miles) + lots and lots of walking. Again, tight calves after a whole afternoon of walking but no pain so…progress!

Sunday, 4/16 – 3.7 super easy outdoor run with my new shoes, 10:20 pace. Continuing on with the theme of tight calves but no pain, even going up hill! I also tried pretty hard to avoid tilt-y sidewalks.

Total mileage:

  • Running: 6.5 miles
  • Cycling: ~19.5

Yoga classes: 1 studio class + 5 practices at home

Notes: I really enjoyed my life of leisure this week. It was nice to do what I felt like when I felt like it. So refreshing, mentally and physically.

Goals for the week: New shoes are (obviously) here, so I plan to do another easy test run on the treadmill and see how I feel. I do not plan to run any consecutive days this week, even if I feel great on the treadmill. So, more cycling + easy runs. Plus: continue to foam roll, wear compression socks, and do yoga.

♥ Nicole

6 thoughts on “Running recap: the week of cross training”

  1. I hope to spend most of my summer this way! No hard training and running for fun! I really enjoy riding my bike too. I’ll continue to ride as cross training during this half marathon(s) training cycle. Thanks for linking, Nicole!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

