Racing and training

I did something crazy…

Today, I signed up for my second marathon.

Well, that’s putting it mildly. I signed up for my second marathon, the 2017 New York City Marathon, and committed myself to raising $2620 for a charity named Team for Kids. They are a group dedicated to providing free running/physical fitness programs to children across the country.

Why Team For Kids? (I can’t promise to be eloquent but I will try). I am first and foremost a runner, who has made many close friends though running related activities. Running has not only improved my health, it has also improved my general well-being. Without running, I think it’s safe to say I’d be a very different person. A certainly unhealthier, more sedentary person. But becoming a runner also taught me how to set goals, reach goals, and understand the work needed to achieve success. These are skills that transcend the purely physical side of running. I am also a pediatric practitioner and I see the importance of outside support to children on a daily basis; parental support is wonderful but a team and community are also important outside of the home. If can have any part in shaping our country’s future through programs supported by Team for Kids, I can count myself a lucky person.

So, here I am, about to embark on my fundraising/running journey.

I am going to shamelessly post my link for donation because this race isn’t about me. It’s about strengthening friendships and lives of people around me and hoping for a brighter future.

2 thoughts on “I did something crazy…”

  1. Wonderful! Love that you’re running for a great cause! I ran New York twice- once solo and once for Team Fox. My experience was amazing. I felt like I was a part of something bigger than myself. It was nice. 🙂 Best of luck!!!! Can’t wait to read about your journey!

    Like

  2. Thank you! I am so excited to be running for a cause. I know it’ll help give me a little “oomph” on those hard days when the last thing I want to do is lace up my shoes for a run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

